Prodigious German producer Tim Engelhardt will release the ten-track studio album Moments Of Truth on Poker Flat this May: an intricately produced, emotive electronic album that includes some of the young artist’s finest work to date.

Cologne’s electronic music community just keeps on giving, drawing on a dense plethora of fresh talent ready to shake up the industry. The latest ace up the city’s sleeve is Tim Engelhardt, part of a new breed of incredibly versatile young producers that combine extensive musical knowledge with intuitive playfulness and multiple perspectives on sound.

Tim talks us through some of the key influences behind the album.


Jon Hopkins – Immunity

Tim :This is a record that has been very important to me when I was creating the album. I love the calming and tranquil feel of this song. Especially when listening to a full album I think it’s very important to have pieces like this.

Alison Marks – Mama

Tim :Not so many people know this one and it’s not a famous song. I loved this song from the first moment I listened to it and it has influenced me a lot during the time I recorded the first ideas for my album.

Carl Craig – Sandstorms

Tim :I could list pretty much anything by Carl Craig here, he’s one of the few people I look up to and also get inspired when I listen to his music. Basically this track sounds like meditation on a dancefloor to me.  Again, it has this particular calm feeling that I’m really searching for and that I wanted to embrace with the album.

James Blake – Love Comes Back

Tim :James Blake is one of the best contemporary electronic artists for me.  I know it’s not close to the type of music I produce, but still I think there’s something that my album and this album actually have in common.

Matthew Dekay & Lee Burridge – Lost In A Moment

Tim :One of the very few electronic songs that I keep coming back too. It’s a real classic in my opinion, timeless melodies – wish I wrote this track! A track on the  album was inspired by this one.

Tim Englehardt – Moments of Truth is out on the 5th of May.